The Simpsons Cancellation

I read this over at IGN just a few minutes ago.  It appears that the never-ending animated series, The Simpsons, may be facing a dire situation that is putting its future in danger.  According to Fox, The Simpsons is a very expensive show to produce and at this point, it is not worth it at the current price.  Fox has decided that if the show
 s to continue, each of the actors needs to take a 45% cut in pay (keep in mind that each of the actors makes over $8 million a year). This, apparently, is simply an impossibility for the actors, who are insisting on no more than a 30% pay reduction.

“Fox is taking the position that unless they can cut the production costs really drastically, they’ll pull the plug on new shows,” says an anonymous insider in an interview with The Daily Beast.  “The show has made billions in profits over the years and will continue to do so as far as the eye can see down the road.  The actors are willing to take a pay cut of roughly a third, but that’s not good enough for Fox.”

This is very troubling news for Simpsons fans like myself.  I have always been a huge fan of the show (and despite the lackluster later seasons, I still watch each episode every Sunday).  Like most premature death’s in the industry, however, it all comes down to money.  I can only cross my fingers and hope that a resolution to the dispute comes sooner rather than later.

One thought on “The Simpsons Cancellation

  1. I was a big fan of the show years ago, but subsequently lost interest over the years. I used to enjoy every Halloween episode and look forward to it, but with other shows like Family Guy, the Cleveland Show and a slew of others. The Simpsons just didn’t seem as relevant and really should have stepped up there game. The Simpson I’m sure are not the only ones guilty of such a Ludicrous payroll so I won’t fault them for that. Had i been the boss at Fox I woulda dumped at the first sickout, and held a highly publicized talent search. Woulda been great for ratings I’m sure. Sad to see them go and many fond memories but 8 mil an episode is really going to leave a bad taste in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

