Discussion: Overrated or Underrated – M. Night Shyamalan

Cinema goers were first wowed in the late ’90s by M. Night Shyamalan’s “The Sixth Sense” starring Bruce Willis. Since then, every one of his films has been met with anticipation and, for many, severe disappointment. I recently revisited his hotly debated film “Signs” starring Mel Gibson, and found that I loved it just as much as I did the first time. I wanted to bring the debate home and ask you, dear reader, to share your opinion. Is the man a cinematic master or a completely overrated hack? Sound off in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Discussion: Overrated or Underrated – M. Night Shyamalan

  1. Had Sixth Sense figured out in the first ten minutes, BUT it was a good film i thought. I liked the last few mins of the Village, but for the rest…. utterly over rated… trash is too strong of a word. The devil?? Really??!!! The Devil!!! Guy is just way too full of himself, and i gave up on his so called “genius” a long time ago.

  2. Oh believe me, the Lucas conversation is coming. I think Shyamalan is more misunderstood than overrated. His first movie was a smash hit, and he has been plagued by unreasonable expectations ever since. I really enjoyed Signs and The Village, and to a lesser extent, The Lady in the Water. That’s not to say that The Happening wasn’t severely disappointing, and I never saw The Last Airbender, but two bad movies out of five isn’t a terrible track record.

  3. @Jameson your right. I didn’t think about it but yeah, M. Night set his bar insanely high with Sixth Sense. Now that I think about it, I believe he did Unbreakable, which I did like alot (Comic nerd, so no choice), but his others….Well, Village, Signs, Lady in the Water were awful for me. The Last Airbender does not count.

  4. So some of his films are brilliant and some are left wanting, but overall not a bad record. If you remind people of which films are actually his, they almost alway seem to recall at least 2 besides The Sixth Sense that they enjoyed. I believe that Unbreakable and Lady in the Water were his lesser known and more interesting films.

  5. he just seems to be his own biggest fan, and something about that really leaves a bad taste in my mouth. You may say he’s talented but the BEST, not a chance. I’ve read articles about how he treats his own projects, and woe to the exec that disagrees with this self-aggrandizing vision.

Leave a Reply

