Google Fiber

Not a new search engine that keeps you regular!

Google has come a long way since their ambitious project to develop an integrated and universal digital library. It all began with the launch of the Google search engine in 1997; then Google revolutionized the way people manage their email with Gmail in 2004; followed by the highly successful launch of the open source Android project and their Google Chrome web browser a few years later. Now they are posed to revolutionize the way people access the internet itself with Google Fiber.

On July 26, 2012 Google began pre-registration for their new internet and television services called Google Fiber. Lucky residents of Kansas City, MO and Kansas City, KS have been chosen as the test market and given 45 days to pre-register. With this new service, Google is promising internet speeds up to 1000Megabits per second (1Gigabit per second), which is 100 times faster than current average broadband speeds. As a friend explained to me, that’s like downloading the entire contents of a Blu-ray Disc in under a minute.

Google has managed to keep things simple enough for practically any Midwesterner to understand by offering only 3 plans, all free of data caps and promotional pricing that rises after 6-12 months:

Free Internet

  • One time $300 construction fee, then FREE for at least 7 years
  • Network Box
  • Up to 5Mbps download, 1Mbps upload speed (current average broadband speed)

Gigabit Internet

  • $70 a month, $300 construction fee waived with 1-year contract
  • Network Box
  • Up to 1Gbps download & upload speed
  • 1TB Google Drive storage

Gigabit Internet + TV

  • $120 a month, $300 construction fee waived with 2-year contract
  • Network Box
  • Up to 1Gbps download & upload speed
  • 1TB Google Drive storage
  • TV Box – hundreds of channels, no additional charge for HD service, YouTube and Netflix integration, Bluetooth compatible
  • 2TB Storage Box – record up to 8 shows at a time, up to 500 hours of HD video
  • Google’s Nexus 7 Android tablet – used as the remote for your TV, supports streaming of some channels

Google has shined a light on the lack of innovation by complacent internet service providers to increase the network speeds they offer to their customers, not to mention their ridiculous data caps. With significant advancements in processing power and storage over the last decade, it’s curious that internet speeds have increased so little. No ISPs have been seriously challenging each others’ broadband capabilities. Until this announcement, no one has raised the bar to a level that others strive to surpass… at least not on a large or affordable enough scale to make a difference nationwide.

When I worked at a video store, people would constantly ask me if I had heard of Netflix or Redbox as if I was an idiot. So I don’t want to be that guy… but I am curious to know what impact Google’s announcement has made on major ISPs like AT&T and Comcast. The abysmal state of the brick and mortar video store is perhaps a glimpse into the future of our beloved providers if they don’t act fast. If Google can deliver, I fully expect this to explode.

I am currently between television providers and was forced to choose between two providers I don’t care for. The company that won my bid did so only because I will not have to sign a contract binding me to early cancellation fees. This way, if (or when) Google Fiber comes to my area, I can drop both my ISP and cable provider and pick them up. That probably won’t come to fruition any time soon, but I can dream.

Ironically, Google Fiber can’t get here soon enough.

4 thoughts on “Google Fiber

  1. My “fiberhood” just met its pre-registration quota, so I’m pretty excited to see this project get underway, but it looks like the installs won’t be happening until Spring 2013.

    Like you, I’m eager to see how Comcast, Time-Warner, and others will contend with this new player on the field. I’m currently paying $90/month for internet and basic cable with T-W, and Google’s service at $30 more sounds like an incredible deal in comparison. The Big Two around here are going to have to step up their game and start offering some great incentives to keep their customers.

    • Google has definitely put providers in a tough spot, especially in your area. I wonder if any changes made out there will be implemented in other parts of the country before Google begins rolling Fiber out in order to avoid a recurrence of the exodus I envision is happening in Kansas City.

      Anyway, I’m jealous that you get Fiber first but I will take California over the Midwest any day… no offense. I’d be interested to hear back from you regarding the quality of the service once it’s installed. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Seth, I just want to remind you that California is much larger than your little corner. You’ve seen where I live. I’ll take the Midwest over this part of California any day.

Leave a Reply

